THANKSGIVING IS CANCELLED SO YOU CAN SAVE $10 ON A TV

Just another average Monday. Today concludes the season of scams, otherwise known as Black Friday and Cyber Monday. If you live under a rock and are unaware of what these two days are; let me break it down for you. First, you have Black Friday, which ironically starts on Thursday at 6 p.m., which even more ironically is Thanksgiving day. Most major companies run average sales but make customers believe they are getting the best deal every, basically. Cyber Monday follows the same pattern of companies running average sales but making consumers believe they are getting away with stealing.

I have narrowed down the extremely long list of what is wrong with this weekend into three main points. Here are the three reasons I feel this holiday season overrated.

#1 — IT’S A SCAM

Like I said earlier, major companies run average sales, but make consumers believe they are getting the best deal ever. Here is an example. I work at Old Navy and on “Black Friday” the entire store was 50% (excluding clearance). We had a line waiting for us to open our doors at 6 p.m. and people rushed in to take advantage of the deals. Here’s how it was a scam; yes, you did get 50% off which is a pretty good deal, but the “ONE DAY ONLY” sign was not true. The sale ran Wednesday – Saturday, and was online during that time too. That means you could have come in any of those days and got the same discount, or you could have stayed home and shopped online. On Friday, the line was close to an hour wait. An HOUR! But if someone was to come in on Wednesday, there was no line at all, and they would have had a better pick at the sizes of clothes. Additionally, now that the 50% is over, the entire store is 40% and if you sign up for a card (which you can cancel as soon as you get) you save an additional 15% off, which is more than the 50% you could have got on Black Friday. To me, it makes zero sense to stand in line for a sale that was happening all week. Other stores work the same way. They will mark down items that will more than likely be marked down again before Christmas, but consumers do not know that, and think “IT’S BLACK FRIDAY IT’S THE CHEAPEST EVER LET’S FIGHT IN THE AISLES TO SAVE $10.” If you just watch the prices, you can always find it the same price or cheaper than the Black Friday price, at another time.

#2 — EVERYONE TURNS INTO A BARBARIAN

I think this about sums it up. How disgusting some people can act. It’s Thanksgiving. Wait let me type that again, THANKS-GIVING. Now read that slowly and make sure you pay attention to the words. THANKS-GIVING. In case you are still having trouble, I can break it down a little further. You are supposed to be thankful for what you have and give back to other. Yet we are leaving dinner early and being rude AF to strangers, just to get a little discount on something. It’s like an oxymoron.

IMPORTANT PSA!!!!!!!!!!!

Here is a small list of things cashiers are not responsible for

  • prices
  • store policies
  • marketing techniques
  • not having your size
  • your coupon is expired
  • you don’t have any money

So to the lady that told me she was calling corporate because she didn’t fully read the sign that said excludes clearance, I hope your phone shocks your very small brain when you call. Also fun fact, being rude to me does absolutely nothing but get you made fun of once you leave and I tell all my coworkers about how immature and dumb you actually are.

#3 — HOLIDAYS?!?

I’ll admit, I used to think Black Friday was a little fun, just people watching. Plus I am a fan of mosh pits at rock concerts, so it was kinda like going to a show, minus the music. BUT, that was back when Black Friday started at midnight and went throughout the night. I was able to enjoy dinner with my family. Now, the deals start on Thursday. I did not even get to eat Thanksgiving dinner with my family because I had to be at work at 5 p.m. So that is why Thanksgiving is officially cancelled so Americans can save $10 on a TV.

Obvioiously, I am not a fan of Black Friday. I may be a little bias because I work retail part time and worked the entire holiday scam fest, but if you step back and look at the bigger picture, we are very disgusting as a society sometimes. These kinds of actions really disaapoint me. Anyway, continue having an average day. TTYL

Leave a Reply

